Classic Sounds

Chromatic Fantasy & Fugue

J.S. Bach, Chromatic Fantasy & Fugue BWV 903 (2016)

A taste of Carnaval

Robert Schumann, Carnaval Op. 9, selections (2015)

Une barque sur l’océan

Maurice Ravel, Miroirs: Une barque sur l’océan (2016)

Original Storytelling

SEAS: Sustainable Environment through the Arts & Sciences

Ma’s concert and music video project, ‘Sustainable Environment through the Arts and Sciences’, is an original artistic initiative to awaken our senses to the growing global issue of climate change. Chosen and led by Ma, a team of environmentally-mindful artists strive to immerse audiences, through uniquely collaborative and interdisciplinary performances, in the story of human’s impact on nature. Seas has released their debut music video: ‘Rise, Awaken’.

Peanuts Gallery

Peanuts Gallery Piano Concerto: From Ellen Taaffe Zwilich’s music spring to life Charles M. Schulz’s beloved characters, in a series of hilarious and poignant events. Original arrangement; pervasive improvisation. Written and directed by Juliann Ma (2016)


Robert Schumann, Carnaval Op. 9 more selections~ with dances improvised by colleagues from Juilliard’s Dance Division based on stories by Juliann Ma (2015)


Improv on 4 notes

The Last Word Quartet: Free improv on 4 notes (2014)

Improv with Chrysanthe Tan

Free improv poetry with Chrysanthe Tan (2015)

World Music

Improv on Mohini

Interdisciplinary performance inspired by Sandeep Das’s melody: ‘Mohini’. Arranged, improvised upon, and performed by Sandeep Das and Tirakitataka (2017)

Russian Sher in A

Klezmer tune, directed by Hankus Netsky, performed by Happy Donkeys Band, featuring Silk Road Global Musician Workshop (2017).

Today’s Composers

Sur Un Même Accord

Henri Dutilleux, Prélude 2: Sur un même accord (2015)

Trio Op. 4

Composer: Alexander Liebermann” (2014)
Performed by Onadek Winan (soprano) and Juliann Ma (piano)

Rondeaux Op. 3

Composer: Alexander Liebermann” (2013)
Performed by Ani Bukujian (violin), Madeleine Bouïssou (cello), and Juliann Ma (piano)

Echos dans la vallée

Composer: Édith Lejet (2012)
Performed by Wen-Jing Yeh (clarinet), Kumiko Wada (violin), and Juliann Ma (piano)

Blast from the Past


Juliann Ma plays J.S. Bach’s E flat and G Major Marches.


Juliann Ma plays J.S. Bach’s Piano Concerto in F Minor.


Rachmaninoff, Piano Concerto No. 2
I. Moderato.
Music Teachers Association of California State Piano Concerto Competition Finals